Holistic Approach to Wellness

Cooking Tips

To address our ever-growing population who have been diagnosed with GI and Auto Immune Disorders, Food Intolerance, Allergies and Celiac Disease it is critical to use food as medicine and to stay away from problematic foods such as gluten and dairy. For those diagnosed with Celiac a Gluten Free diet is the cure.

Be sure to check out our GFCF Substitute page for more information and recipes

Karmic Health has provided the following information to help you get started on a gluten free diet which is the first place we usually start. Because there is strong evidence dairy and casein (milk protein) is linked to many diseases and goes hand in hand with gluten intolerance, we have included dairy free information. There is good news for those intolerant to dairy. Because the protein (casein) is different in goat and sheep dairy compared to cow dairy many people can tolerate goat and sheep milks, cheeses, etc., Goat milk is closest to mothers milk so the body knows what to do with it. Cow dairy is a very large protein and is quite inflammatory in the GI track. Once you have dialed in on the GFCF it’s good to make sure there are no other foods you are intolerant to. The IgG Food Intolerance Panel is a great lab to have as it will give you a baseline in creating a healthy eating plan. We have found foods outside the top 8 allergens (wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, fish, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts) including gluten free grains.

A Quick Gluten Free Guide

Cooking gluten free can be challenging at first but once you begin to experiment with recipes using gluten free options you will notice a difference in how you feel. There are many “natural” gluten free foods including the following:

Meat, poultry, Fish, Seafood, Fruits, Vegetables, Nuts, Seeds, Berries, and Eggs. Tofu is another gluten free item however there is controversy regarding soy and hormones and soy is one of the top 8 allergens.

Some gluten free grains and starches you can use include:

Beans, Legumes, Flax, Corn, Potatoes, Rice, Tapioca, Millet, Montina ( milled Indian ricegrass), Mesquite (leguminous plants) Quinoa, Buckwheat, Amaranth, Arrowroot, and Teff.  

  • We recommend always using organic because they will not be GMO (genetically modified) and if GI track is inflamed reducing or eliminating all grains until the GI track is healed. The body gets confused sometimes and can mistake a gluten free grain for gluten and react. People with Candida (yeast infection) should not eat grains due to the carbohydrate. See our section on Candida to learn more.

Grains to Avoid:

Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale (crossing wheat and rye). 

Common Foods With Gluten to Avoid:

Beers, Breading & Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications, Vitamins, Herbal Supplements, Energy Bars, Four & Cereal Products, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Pastas, Processed Lunch Meats, Prepared foods, Soy Sauce, or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffing, Dressings and Thickeners. Envelopes and stamps have gluten as well.

Alcohol Beverages 

Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars (with the exception of malt vinegar) are gluten free. There are no harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten-peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. Wine is also gluten free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars are NOT gluten free. For those with Celiac we usually recommend gluten free options with all alcohol.
There are gluten free beers available in the United States and for those adventurous ones, there is always the option of brewing your own.

Purchase Living Gluten Free Guide for a complete list and much more information on a healthy allergy free lifestyle.

Dairy

Consider These Facts with Dairy Allergies

Dairy products, especially those derived from cow’s milk are a common allergen. 

Dairy allergies usually manifests in childhood and many (but not all) children grow out of such allergies or intolerances by the age of five.

Heredity seems to be the prime reason some people have allergies and others don’t. If both your parents have allergies, you have approximately a 75 percent chance of being allergic. If one parent is allergic, or you have relatives on one side with allergies, you have a 30 to 40 percent chance of developing some form of allergy. If neither parent has apparent allergy, the chance is 10 to 15 percent respectively. 

See our page about food allergies for more information

Many people including vegans reach for soy as a substitute for dairy. Because soy is one of the top 8 allergens and in a lot of cases is GMO (genetically modified) there needs to be other healthy options and were in luck – there is!

As mentioned before try goat and sheep milk cheese, yogurts, milks, etc., as a compromise to cow milk however if you cannot tolerate any casein there are other options.

There are so many options for dairy free milk now including soy, almond, coconut, hemp, chia, flax, rice as well as some blends such as almond coconut. Make sure you get unsweetened on these because they can sneak in a lot of sugar.

Yogurts are available in coconut and almond. If you can tolerate goat and sheep there are great selections.

Cheese is a hard one to give up for a lot of people but there is hope. If you cannot tolerate goat or sheep cheeses which by the way are so good, Daiya puts out several dairy free cheeses now you can get shredded or sliced. Readily available in health food stores.

Creamers are a treat for us coffee lovers but they can have a ton of sugar. The healthiest way is to add one of the milks to your coffee. Takes a while getting used to it but you will – trust me! If you just have to have creamer there are coconut, almond and soy versions that are dairy free.
We would love to work with you in switching out any food you are intolerant to for a healthier option.

Contact us for more information

 

Back to top